Handmade footwear Handmade footwear

Moving with light-footed ease came naturally to the North American Indians for millennia – and means one thing above all else for Sioux: ultimate comfort. This is the essential difference between the footwear manufactured by Sioux and other shoes. The famous moccasin feeling can only be truly felt on the feet when the craftsmanship is accomplished by hand. In addition, the use of exclusive materials and traditional constructions, manufacturing that is primarily done by hand and an artisanal finish are prerequisites for our work. Around 150 steps are needed to provide a genuine Sioux product with its unique comfort. We will present the most important steps here. 

Sioux and leather The best part of the shoe

Genuine leather is a fascinating natural product. You are able to discover traces of a life when looking at layers of leather. The animal’s origin, farming methods - animals who were able to graze freely have fewer scars - and even the food that the animal used to eat over the course of its life play a huge role. You can also estimate how old an animal was by examining the leather. Every piece of leather is therefore ultimately an extraordinary, unique creation. And beautiful leather can reveal its unique character in our high-quality shoes. 

 

Each leather hide is thoroughly inspected by Sioux’s leather buyers: perfect workmanship and a flawless grain pattern is of the utmost importance to them. The more natural the leather is, the more beautiful it is – and the more likely that it will be brought to life once more on the feet of a Sioux wearer. 

 

The special quality of the leather is reflected in the tanning process. As part of its sustainable strategy, Sioux only selects leather from European tanneries that we have personally visited. At these tanneries, the leather can be followed from the source, right through to the end product. The high-quality leathers are dyed solely in barrels, hence the dye penetrates the entire leather. This is guaranteed by regular checks by Sioux staff in the Quality Assurance department and by independent testing institutes. Sioux has developed comprehensive compliance guidelines; each supplier is audited and approved as part of a complex process. We cooperate only with a few selected suppliers that we know personally and where a long-term business relationship has been built up. Quality is also based on this level of trust. Compliance with all relevant limits is verified by German testing laboratories. Sioux goes beyond what the law prescribes: only the best leather is born again as a Sioux shoe. 

 

It is with this in mind, that at Sioux, we use only the best, tested quality of leather. This is primarily the upper layer of leather, i.e. the grain side or split leather, which is found right underneath the grain side. This is the second best quality of leather. We make the parts that become particularly worn down when wearing from the best part of the back. The most dense and even fibre structure can be found here. In order to get a consistent picture, a pair of Sioux shoes are always cut from the same hide.

 

Due to the various types of leather, tanning processes and colours, Sioux incorporates over 200 different varieties of leather into its collections. From non-slip, smooth leather and colourful suede and nubuck leathers, to reptile, metallic and glossy looks, everything has the same inimitable Sioux quality.

 

 

These are:


Sioux Lammnappa

Lamb nappa

This nappa leather is particularly soft, smooth and shiny. Sioux experts prefer to use it for women’s soft moccasins such as „Aitora“.

Sioux Kalbleder

Calf leather

Soft, fine leather from young calf has a fine grain and adapts well to the foot. The light subtly reflects its silky shine and gives our city model „Nandor“ a sophisticated look.

Sioux Rindleder

Cowhide

Milled until soft, very flexible and hard-wearing. Cowhide is the most popular leather worldwide with its natural grain look. At Sioux, we prefer to use it for our unlined moccasins, for example for the hand-stitched, supple „Claudio“ model. 

Sioux Hirschleder

Deerskin

Deer hide is particularly elegant and rare as it very limited – flawless game hides are certainly something very special. The structure of this leather is unique and is exceptionally soft. Thanks to its elegant look and feel, it is used for the super comfortable „Mathias“ model.

Sioux Büffelleder

Buffalo leather

Buffalo leather has a hard-wearing and firm fibre structure, and is, therefore, mainly used for robust, casual shoes and sandals. It has a lively and slightly glossy look. For example: the „Leonic“ model.

Sioux Ziegenleder

Kid leather

Its natural, small grains give the leather a distinctive look. It is also lightweight, water-repellent and extremely supple. As the individual layers of hide are bound together, the leather is extremely durable and versatile. Leather coming from free-range goats, which provide the best quality, are used in Sioux footwear. For example: „Ziada“.

Sioux Nubukleder

Nubuck

Nubuck leather is impressive thanks to its velvety, matt surface; the grain side of the leather is slightly smoothed over. Fine and soft fibres remain, allowing the foot to breathe. If you gently stroke the shoe, you will see the grain on the soft surface, which is what gives leather its vibrant look. All leather is dyed using pure vegetable dyes. example: Kajetan marine

Sioux Veloursleder

Suede

What is generally termed as “suede” is cowhide or calfskin that has been partially ground on the flesh side. This can be recognised by its typically matt, soft change in colour when running a finger over it and by its homogeneous, fibrous texture. A great example is our fringed moccasin „Zibja“.

Sioux Huntingleder

Hunting or nubuck leather

The partially ground flesh side of this suede is worn on the outside and the soft grain part on the inside. A lining is therefore not necessary. 

Sioux Lackleder

Patent leather

The extremely fine, soft and smooth calfskin is coated with a protective varnish. Its glossy, mirrored finish, which was only used on luxury shoes in the past, now adorns everyday footwear in a range of bold colours, including the black „Lovina“ city shoe for women. . 

Sioux Fantasieleder

Fantasy leather

How is genuine fine calfskin given an exotic look? Discover our women’s shoe „Campina“ with its floral print.  

Sioux and production Designed in Germany, made in Portugal

Whoever takes a look at our manufacturing facilities in Portugal, quickly sees that there are many people working there. We are convinced that artisanal tradition in footwear manufacturing cannot be replaced by machines.

 

Wherever a feel for quality and an eye for detail are required, European craftsmanship is just the thing. This is why our commitment to artisanal manufacturing is the expression of perfect fit, durability and excellent quality. A Sioux shoe shows how exceptional craftsmanship should look. 

 

A tour through our production process in 150 steps:

Sioux and the shoe constructions What makes a shoe?

Why are there so many different models of shoes? The constructions used by Sioux depend on what the shoe will be worn for and what the wearer requires from it. And, ultimately, the shoe must fit perfectly. The type of construction defines how the upper part of the shoe (shaft) and the sole are connected together. What should it look like? How robust or flexible should the shoe be? Should the shoe be waterproof? A Sioux shoe combines look, craftsmanship, feel and material perfectly – the result is inimitable wear properties. With dedication and passion to hand-crafted detail, Sioux gives each shoe its distinctive character. 

A comfortable and soft companion The moccasin

It is our favourite as it is so comfortable to wear. The soft leather fits perfectly like a glove over the entire foot. Moccasins were originally worn by Native Americans, who valued their individual fit and the fact that they could be worn barefoot. Sioux became famous with the moccasin and it is still, today, a defining model in the Sioux collection. The hand-stitched moccasin seam that is visible on the top of the shoe is its stylish trademark. The moccasin style is the most frequently made model of our shoes manufactured in Portugal. Its therefore no wonder that we see ourselves as the market leader when it comes to moccasins. 

 

How a moccasin is made:

The sporty one The San Crispino

This model is the sportiest of all elegant men’s shoes from Sioux. Not just because of its sporty look, but also for its great flexibility, and the San Crispino seam that gives this style its name. In order to be able to roll through softly in the shoe, the flexible insole should extend slightly above the last.

 

And this is how a San Crispino is made:

 

 

A well-padded leisure shoe The California

The construction of these shoes, which hails from the West of the USA, ensures that the wearer is light on his feet. The special textile midsole lends the shoe its comfortable cushioning. On the outside, the California shoe is characterised by its striking California stripe: a stripe of leather from the upper that is stitched around the lower shaft. 

 

 

The glued basic shoe The Ago

A mini revolution took place in 1911 when the Milan-based tanner Francesco Rampichini invented a way of bonding leather. This light and shape-retentive construction method went down in history as AGO (A Great Opportunity). The AGO leather adhesive is used to affix the leather upper to the underside of the insole. The outsole is then glued on top. This construction method is the newest of all production methods. Where, in the past, the only way to attach the shaft to the sole was with stitching, eyelets or tacks, most footwear today (particularly that coming from the Far East) is made using the AGO method. However, AGO is only used for a small proportion of Sioux shoes. 

 

 

The fashionable choice in a moccasin style The Sacchetto

Like a moccasin on the inside: comfortable and flexible, soft and light. In the Sacchetto technique, the soft leather used for the lining is sewn together like a sack (Ital.: sacchetto) and integrated into the upper. The supple leather cocoons the foot like a glove. The AGO method on the outside: the leather upper is bonded to the outsole using adhesive, which makes almost all fashionable shoe styles possible. 

 

How a Sacchetto is made:

Sioux Schuhleisten für hohen Tragekomfort

Sioux und der besondere Tragekomfort Von der Hand an den Fuß

Auf leisen Sohlen kommen – was für die Indianer Nordamerikas Jahrtausende lang eine Selbstverständlichkeit war, steht bei Sioux für einen besonderen Anspruch: allerhöchster Tragekomfort. Er ist der wesentliche Unterschied zwischen dem deutschen Schuhhersteller Sioux und anderen Schuhen. Erst durch Menschenhand kann das berühmte Mokassin-Gefühl auch am Fuß zum Tragen kommen. Daneben ist der Einsatz bester Materialien und traditioneller Macharten, überwiegend manuelle Herstellungsverfahren und eine handwerkliche Fertigungskunst Voraussetzung. Rund 150 Arbeitsschritte sind notwendig, bis der echte Sioux mit dem einzigartigen Tragegefühl entsteht. Die wichtigsten davon stellen wir Ihnen hier vor. 

Sioux und das Leder Das Filetstück des Schuhs

Echtes Leder ist ein faszinierendes Naturprodukt. Auf der Lederschicht können Sie stets die Spuren eines Lebens entdecken. Dabei spielen die Herkunft des Tieres, die Art der Haltung – Tiere, die frei weiden, weisen weniger Narben auf – und sogar das Futter, das das Tier im Laufe seines Lebens verfüttert bekommt, eine große Rolle. Auch das Alter des Tieres lässt sich am Leder ablesen. Deshalb ist auch jedes Stück Leder am Ende immer ein außergewöhnliches Unikat. Schönes Leder findet seine einzigartige Entfaltung schließlich in einem unserer hochwertigen Schuhe. 

 

Jede Lederhaut wird von den Sioux-Ledereinkäufern genau inspiziert: Dabei legen sie Wert auf die perfekte Verarbeitung und ein einwandfreies Narbenbild. Je natürlicher das Leder belassen wird, desto schöner ist es. Und desto höher ist die Chance, dass es am Fuß eines Sioux-Schuh-Trägers ein zweites Mal zum Leben erweckt wird. 

 

Die besondere Qualität des Leders zeigt sich bereits an der Gerbung. Sioux wählt im Zeichen der Nachhaltigkeit fast ausschließlich Leder von europäischen Gerbereien aus, die wir alle persönlich besucht haben. Bei ihnen kann das Leder durchgehend von der Quelle bis zum Endprodukt nachvollzogen werden.  Die hochwertigen Leder werden überwiegend im Fass und komplett durchgefärbt. Das garantieren regelmäßige Kontrollen von den Sioux-Mitarbeitern der Qualitätssicherung und unabhängige Prüfinstitute. Sioux hat ein umfassendes Compliance-Regelwerk erarbeitet, jeder Lieferant wird auditiert und in einem komplexen Verfahren freigegeben. Da bleiben nur wenige ausgewählte Lieferanten, die Sioux persönlich kennt und mit denen uns eine langjährige Geschäftsbeziehung verbindet. Qualität fußt nämlich auch auf dieser Stufe auf Vertrauen. Die Einhaltung aller relevanten Grenzwerte wird zwar durch Prüflabore in Deutschland bestätigt. Sioux geht aber noch weiter als es das Gesetz vorschreibt: Nur das beste Leder darf als Sioux-Schuh wiedergeboren werden. 

 

In diesem Sinne verwenden wir bei Sioux nur die beste, geprüfte Lederqualität: Das ist in erster Linie die oberste Schicht des Leders, die sogenannte Narbenschicht, oder Spaltleder, das direkt unter der Narbenschicht sitzt. Das ist zweitbeste Lederqualität. Teile, die beim Tragen besonders strapaziert werden, fertigen wir ausschließlich aus dem besten Rückenteil. Hier findet sich das dichteste und gleichmäßigste Fasergefüge. Und um ein einheitliches Bild zu bekommen, werden Sioux-Schuhe immer paarweise aus einer Lederhaut zugeschnitten.

 

In den Sioux Kollektionen werden aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Lederarten, Gerbungen und Farben über 200 verschiedene Ledervarianten verarbeitet. Von griffigen Glattledern, über bunte Velours- und Nubukvarianten, bis zu Reptilien-, Metallic- oder Glanzoptiken – immer von unnachahmlicher Sioux-Qualität.

 

 

Das sind:


Sioux Lammnappa

Lammnappa

Flauschiges Lammnappa ist besonders anschmiegsam und weich, glatt und glänzend. Die Sioux-Experten verwenden es am liebsten für handschuhweiche Damenmokassins, wie beispielsweise „Aitora“.

Sioux Kalbleder

Kalbleder

Weiches, feines Leder aus Häuten von jungen Kälbern ist feinnarbig und passt sich besonders gut dem Fuß an. Subtil spiegelt sein seidiger Glanz das Licht wieder und verleiht unserem City-Modell „Nandor“ eine edle Eleganz.

Sioux Rindleder

Rindleder

Weich gewalkt, sehr flexibel und strapazierfähig. Rindleder mit seiner natürlichen Narbenoptik ist weltweit das beliebteste Leder. Wir von Sioux verwenden es am liebsten für unsere ungefütterten Mokassins, wie beispielsweise den handgenähten, handschuhweichen „Claudio“. 

Sioux Hirschleder

Hirschleder

Leder von Hirschen ist besonders edel und rar, da es nur sehr begrenzt zur Verfügung steht – fehlerfreie Wildhäute sind etwas ganz Besonderes. Die Faserstruktur von Hirschleder ist einzigartig und außergewöhnlich weich. Dank seiner edlen Optik und Haptik hat es das Glück zum superbequemen „Mathias“ verarbeitet zu werden.

Sioux Büffelleder

Büffelleder

Büffelleder verfügt über ein strapazierfähiges und festes Fasergefüge. Deshalb wird es vorzugsweise für robuste Freizeitschuhe und Sandalen eingesetzt. Die Optik ist lebendig und glänzt leicht. Beispiel: Modell „Leonic“.

Sioux Ziegenleder

Ziegenleder

Seine natürlichen kleinen Narben verleihen dem Leder ein unverwechselbares Bild. Es ist zudem leicht, wasserabweisend und überaus biegsam. Da die einzelnen Hautschichten fest verbunden sind, ist das Leder äußerst haltbar und vielseitig einsetzbar. Was von freilaufenden Ziegen stammt, die die beste Qualität liefern, darf zum Sioux-Schuh werden. Beispiel: „Ziada“.

Sioux Nubukleder

Nubukleder (Rauleder)

Nubukleder besticht durch seine samtig, matte Oberfläche; die Narbenseite des Leders ist leicht abgeschliffen. Es bleiben feine, weiche Fasern, die den Fuß besonders gut atmen lassen. Streicht man sanft über den Schuh, ist auf der weichen Oberfläche ein Strich zu sehen, was dem Leder eine lebendige Optik verleiht. Alle Leder sind mit rein anilinen Farben durchgefärbt. Beispiel: Kajetan marine

Sioux Veloursleder

Veloursleder (Rauleder)

Was der Volksmund mit "Wildleder" bezeichnet, ist fleischseitig angeschliffenes Leder vom Rind oder Kalb. Zu erkennen an der typisch matten, weichen Farbveränderung beim Darüberstreichen und am homogen faserigen Griff. Ein schönes Beispiel: unser Fransenmokassin „Zibja“.

Sioux Huntingleder

Huntingleder (Rauleder)

Bei diesem Rauleder vom Rind wird die angeschliffene Fleischseite außen getragen, die weiche Narbenseite innen. Ein Futter ist somit nicht vonnöten. 

Sioux Lackleder

Lackleder

Das sehr feine und anschmiegsame Kalbleder wird mit einer schützenden Lackschicht überzogen. Dieses hochglänzende und spiegelglatte Finish, das früher nur bei Luxusschuhen verwendet wurde, verschönert heute in den leuchtendsten Farben Alltagsschuhe, wie beispielsweise den Damen-City-Schuh „Lovina“. 

Sioux Fantasieleder

Fantasieleder

Wie verleiht man echtem, feinem Kalbleder eine exotische Anmutung? Entdecken Sie unseren Damen-Schuh „Campina“ mit Multiflowerprint und Reptil-Prägung. 

Sioux und die Produktion Designed in Germany, made in Portugal

Wer einen Blick in unsere Manufaktur im portugiesischen Lousada wirft, sieht rasch, dass der Mensch hier sehr präsent ist. Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass die handwerkliche Tradition in der Schuhherstellung nicht durch Maschinen ersetzt werden kann.

 

Immer da, wo Fingerspitzengefühl und Augenmaß gefordert sind, findet handwerkliche Detailarbeit made in Europe statt. Deshalb ist für uns der Manufaktur-Gedanke Ausdruck von Passgenauigkeit, Langlebigkeit und bester Qualität. Ein Sioux-Schuh zeigt, wie Handwerkskunst im Besonderen aussehen kann. 

 

Ein Gang durch die Produktion in 150 Schritten:

Lederzuschnitt von Hand eines Sioux Mokassin

Sioux und die Macharten Damit ein Schuh draus wird

Warum gibt es so unterschiedliche Modelle von Schuhen? Je nach Anspruch an einen Schuh und je nach Bedürfnis des Trägers kommen bei Sioux unterschiedliche Macharten zum Einsatz. Und am Ende muss der Schuh einfach perfekt passen. Die sogenannte Machart beschreibt, wie das Schuhoberteil (Schaft) und die Sohle miteinander verbunden werden. Wie soll die Optik sein? Wie stabil, wie flexibel muss der Schuh werden? Muss der Schuh wasserdicht sein? Ein Sioux Schuh kombiniert Optik, handwerkliche Fertigungskunst, Haptik und Material perfekt miteinander – daraus resultieren die unnachahmlichen Trageeigenschaften. Mit Hingabe und Liebe zum handwerklichen Detail gibt Sioux jedem Schuh seinen unverwechselbaren Charakter. 

Ein anschmiegsamer, weicher Begleiter Der Mokassin

Er ist unser Liebling, weil er sich so besonders bequem tragen lässt. Wie ein Handschuh umschließt das weiche Leder den ganzen Fuß. Ursprünglich stammt er von den Indianern Nordamerikas. Sie schätzen, dass er sich individuell an den Fuß anpasst und auch barfuß zu tragen ist. Mit dem Mokassin wurde Sioux groß und auch heute noch ist er prägender Bestandteil der Sioux-Kollektionen. Die handgenähte Mokassin-Naht, die oben am Schuh sichtbar ist, ist sein stilistisches Markenzeichen. Die Mokassin-Machart ist die häufigste Fertigungsart unserer Schuhe in Portugal. Kein Wunder, bezeichnen wir uns doch als der Marktführer im Mokassin-Segment. 

 

Und so entsteht ein Mokassin

Der Sportive Der San Crispino

Er ist der Sportliche unter den eleganten Herrenschuhen von Sioux. Nicht nur für die sportive Optik, sondern auch für die hohe Flexibilität sorgt unter anderem die sogenannte San-Crispino-Naht, die dieser Machart ihren Namen gibt. Um mit dem Schuh weich abrollen zu können, lässt man die flexible Innensohle etwas über den Leisten stehen.

 

Und so entsteht ein San Crispino

 

 

Ein gut gepolsterter Freizeitschuh Der California

Sanft auftreten lässt es sich dank dieser aus dem Westen der USA stammenden Machart. Die spezielle Zwischensohle aus Textil verleiht dem Schuh seine angenehme Polsterung. Äußerlich erkennt man den California-Schuh am markanten California-Streifen: Ein Streifen Oberleder, das rings um den Schaft genäht ist. 

 

 

Der geklebte Basic-Schuh Der Ago

1911 war es eine kleine Revolution, als der Mailänder Gerber Francesco Rampichini ein Klebeverfahren für Leder erfand. Als Another Great Opportunity (AGO) ging diese leichte und auch formbeständige Machart in die Schuhgeschichte ein. Mit dem AGO-Lederklebstoff wird das Oberteil des Leders mit der Unterseite der Innensohle verklebt. Danach wird die Laufsohle daraufgeklebt. Diese Machart ist die jüngste der Produktionsvarianten. Wo vor der Klebe-Ära eine Verbindung von Schaft und Sohle nur durch Naht, Öse und Nägel möglich war, entstehen heute die meisten (vor allem aus Fernost stammenden) Schuhe in AGO-Machart. Bei Sioux spielt AGO allerdings nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. 

 

 

Der Modische nach Mokassin-Art Der Sacchetto

Von innen wie ein Mokassin: bequem und flexibel, weich und leicht. Bei der Sacchetto-Technik wird das weiche Futterleder wie ein Säckchen (ital.: sacchetto) zusammengenäht und in das Oberteil eingearbeitet. Das anschmiegsame Leder umschließt den Fuß dadurch wie ein Handschuh. Von außen wie der AGO: Der Oberlederschaft wird per Klebstoff mit der Laufsohle verbunden, was so ziemlich alle modischen Schuhformen zulässt. 

 

Und so entsteht ein Sacchetto: